Beer 223/365 – Dark Horse One Oatmeal Stout

Style: Oatmeal Stout

ABV: 8.0%

Purchased at: Maybe Siciliano’s in Grand Rapids Michigan? I can’t remember ha.

What makes this beer different: One of the heaviest Oatmeal Stout’s I have ever had.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, I hear they are selling in PA soon so thats a plus.

Grade: A-

6/19/2010: I think its official; Dark Horse is my favorite brewery. Every single beer of theirs that I have tried has been very unique, and very tasty. Plus I love the whole rustic/rural setting of their brewery/brewpub. If you haven’t seen what it looks like check out my brewery tour write up for some pictures.

This beer smells very very roasted, lots of coffee smell going on here. The taste is intense for an oatmeal stout. Almost a neck and neck race between dark roast coffee, and bittersweet chocolate, with vanilla lagging way way behind in last place. This beer is very sweet, but its kept in check by the burnt/roast flavor that the coffee is giving. Very heavy mouthfeel for an Oatmeal stout, but thats perfect for me because I love heavy beers. Not sure if you get Dark Horse beer in your area, but if you don’t be sure you try to trade for some. It will be worth it.

Picture of the day: Digging up the past.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/19/beer-223365-dark-horse-one-oatmeal-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

