Beer 220/365 – Stone Levitation Ale

Style: American Amber / Red Ale

ABV: 4.4%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Its a little over par for what Stone is capable of IMO.

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe, but I would say probably not as it doesn’t offer something different.

Grade: B

6/16/2010: Stone is well known for using a boatload of hops in most of their beers, and they live up to their reputation with this beer. Well as far as the style is concerned that is. Regarding the style, I actually didn’t know where it fell in before I drank it. This actually almost feels like a lighter bodied hoppy brown ale to me.

Anyways, Levitation Ale smells hoppy and sweet. The taste is not nearly as forward as the smell. There is a good bit of hops going on, and there is this “toasted” flavor that I can’t put my finger on. Its the type of flavor I normally would associate with a brown ale. The beer finishes VERY dry. Maybe my palette is blown out from all these strongly flavored beers I have been drinking lately, but this one did not do a whole lot for me.

Picture of the day: The 20 worst names ever.

Published in: on June 16, 2010 at 11:21 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/16/beer-220365-stone-levitation-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. What this beer brings to the table is the 4.4%. Good taste, easy to drink and low abv= Great session beer.


Leave a Reply

