Beer 218/365 – Bear Republic Hop Rod Rye

Style: American IPA

ABV: 8.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Why is this a rye beer, yet in the IPA category?

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not, I haven’t had a rye beer that I liked yet.

Grade: B-

6/14/2010: Figured I might as well take out both of my Bear Republic IPA’s right in a row. The first was really good stuff, not so sure how I feel about this one. I’m not sure I rye in beer is really my thing?

The nose of hop rod rye is straight hops. Mostly Citrus, but I smell the dreaded piney flavor hops in there also. Yup there it is in the taste.. Pine hop flavor. FYI; if you are a new reader I like IPA’s, but hate piney hops. Thankfully there is a good bit of sweet caramel malt in this to save it. Citrus hops are there also. Did this beer seem undercarbed to anyone? That kind of killed this beer for me as well. Mouthfeel is nice and creamy though. Wouldn’t go out of my way to drink this again.

Picture of the day: The 10 best skits from the Chappelle show. One of the best shows ever if you ask me

Published in: on June 14, 2010 at 12:53 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/14/beer-218365-bear-republic-hop-rod-rye/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

