Beer 208/365 – Voodoo Brewing Big Black Voodoo Daddy

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 12.5%

Purchased at: 3 Sons Dogs ‘n Suds – Wexford PA

What makes this beer different: So smooth for how high the ABV is.

Will I be drinking this again: Without a doubt.

Grade: A+

6/4/2010: Sorry for the poor picture quality on this one. I thought it came out a little better than this. Anyways Voodoo is a very good under the radar brewery, and they are probably best known for the beer seen above. They don’t really distribute outside of PA so if this beer looks foreign to you, don’t feel left out. But if anyone is really interested in one, let me know as I have a couple extra to trade. IMO its the best stout brewed in Pennsylvania. Now only if Matt would let me redesign his website, that would be sweet. I could make a really bad ass looking site with the whole voodoo theme.

Big Black Voodoo Daddy has a very complex smell. First is chocolate, followed by a little bit of coffee, a sweet milk stout-like scent, and lastly some smoky oak. I think I smell berry also? I would say this beer had more strong scents that I was able to pick out than any other beer I have had prior to this one. The taste is complex, yet smooth as all hell. Out of all the “big stouts” I have had, this one is the smoothest, and hides the ABV the best. No sign at all of the 12.5% Alcohol. The taste is a sweet chocolate, a hint of coffee, some berry in there? It finishes of with a quick punch of hops and a nice mild kick of smoke/oak. The flavors all stand out, but blend together so so well. The mouthfeel as mentioned before is just perfect. This might not be my favorite stout ever, but the mouthfeel is by far the best. This coming from someone who doesn’t put a lot of credence into mouthfeel. Okay enough jibba jabba about this one, just do yourself a favor and find a bottle of BBVD and share it with a stout loving friend.

Picture of the day: The evolution of man.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/04/beer-208365-voodoo-brewing-big-black-voodoo-daddy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Just scored a bottle of this last weekend during a visit to Philly. Really glad to hear it’s so good! Now I can’t wait to down it.

  2. You’re making me want to get out the bottle you sent me out of the cellar!

    • It is really good as is, but I’m sure will be better with age.

  3. Gzot one in the cellar, can’t wait til the occasion, especially now that I see your A+


Leave a Reply

