Beer 207/365 – Kona Longboard Island Lager

Style: American Pale Lager

ABV: 4.6%

Purchased at: Parents brought it back for me from Florida.

What makes this beer different: Kind of bitter for a lager

Will I be drinking this again: Negative

Grade: B-

6/3/2010: Originally I had plans on drinking one beer from every state for my 365 mission, but its proving to be a bit harder than I had anticipated. I figured Hawaii would be one of the harder states to check off the list, so I was sure to have the parents grab me a random sampling of Kona beers when they were in the sunshine state; soon to be the oil coast state (sad stuff). I have no idea how these beers actually rate on BA so I am going into this one blind.

Longboard Lager smells a bit earthy and grainy. The taste ends up being much more intense than I expected it to be, but what is there isn’t jiving right. Its actually kind of spicy, some sharp hops for a lager, and some grainy flavors going on. Almost comes off more like a pilsner not a lager. The mouthfeel is light and well carbonated which saved a few points for this beer. It helped that I drank this on a 90 degree day with high humidity. The beer was relatively refreshing, just not the best flavors in the world.

Picture of the day: Well at least this guy is honest.

Published in: on June 3, 2010 at 10:54 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/06/03/beer-207365-kona-longboard-island-lager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We had Kona Longboard in Kona and it was really good. I haven’t found it back home in Michigan, so I’m anxious to taste it here – if that is possible and see if it’s as good outside of paradise as it was there in Kona. I like your perspective there Drew and will watch for your points if I ever get a bottle in the Detroit area.

    Paul

    • Thanks for the compliment Paul! I don’t know of anywhere even remotely close to us that gets Kona. I really want to try their pipeline porter.


Leave a Reply

