Beer 202/365 – Port Brewing Midnight Sessions Lager

Style: Schwarzbier

ABV: 5.0%

Purchased at: Sent to me in a trade as an extra.

What makes this beer different: My first Schwarzbier. Almost drinks like a porter.

Will I be drinking this again: Not sure how I feel about this style? But maybe

Grade: B+

5/29/2010: This is my first ever Schwarzbier, and honestly I have no idea what to expect. Lets check out BeerAdvocate for a description of the style so I know what to expect..

Schwarzbier (“shvahrts-beer”), is simply German for black beer. Unlike other dark beers, like porters or stouts, they are not overly bitter with burnt and roasted malt characteristics that the others tend to depend on. Instead, hops are used for a good portion of the bitterness. Very refreshing and soul lifting beers, they also make a great alternative for the Winter. Especially when you are looking for a lighter beer, but one with depth of colour and taste.

Midnight Session Lager pours out like a medium bodied Porter. The first smell I actually get is a little bit of hops, and some chocolate malt. The taste is like an extremely light bodied smoked porter; smokey, roasted coffee, a bit of chocolate, and some hops in the background. This beer is throwing me for a loop so far. I thought the hops would be much more prominent since they were semi-strong in the nose. My brain keeps telling me this beer needs to be thicker, and have more flavor, but maybe this is typical for the style? If I were blindfolded I would have guessed this to be a very light porter. Overall I liked this beer, it was very light and drinkable.

Picture of the day: I know I posted some of these up before, but here are some more BP Logos.

Published in: on May 29, 2010 at 12:04 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/29/beer-202365-port-brewing-midnight-sessions-lager/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

