Beer 201/365 – Three Floyds Pride and Joy

Style: American Pale Ale (APA)

ABV: 6.5%

Purchased at: Sent to me in a trade.

What makes this beer different: Smells like an IPA not an APA

Will I be drinking this again: Ummm maybe but I won’t go out of my way for it.

Grade: B

5/28/2010: Hmm this picture came out a lot fuzzier than I wanted it to. I think its time to get a good lens cleaning on the old f1.8/50mm. Anyways onto the brew. Three Floyds has yet to let me down with any of their beers, all of them have been A- or better. But something about this one didn’t do it for me.

Pride and Joy smells WAY too hoppy for an APA. I don’t grade a beer based on how well it fits the style, but to me this beer is an IPA, not an APA. The taste is real hoppy, and the mouthfeel a bit thin to me. I realize this is made to be a “session” type beer, but I still need a little more malt to go on here. Its not even the hops that bother me, but if you are going to throw all these hops at me, I expect there to be a bit more thickness to lay the hops down on. Overall not terrible, but not going out of my way to drink it again.

Picture of the day: Haha isn’t this the truth. Life Before Google.

Published in: on May 28, 2010 at 11:22 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/28/beer-201365-three-floyds-pride-and-joy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

