Beer 199/365 – Gordash Brewing Holy Mackerel Mack In Black

Style: American Strong Ale

ABV: 8.0%

Purchased at: Parents brought it back from Florida, not sure where they bought it.

What makes this beer different: Almost tastes like a pop with some fruit juice squeezed in.

Will I be drinking this again: no

Grade: C+

5/26/2010: How cool is this glass? Lately my mom has been obsessed with going to estate sales, and she actually has been finding me some pretty bad ass glassware. She and my dad brought me back a handful of beers from FL that I can’t get here in PA. Most of them I suggested to them, but this one was recommended to them by the “beer guy” at the total wine in Ft Myers. Usually the people on staff at these types of places have some pretty good suggestions, but this one was a swing and a miss.

Remember those scratch and sniff stickers you would get when you were a kid? Remember that weird chocolate scented one? Well thats what this beer smells like, scratch and sniff chocolate. It also has a very cola like effervescence to it. I also think this beer is semi-infected as it has a bit of a sour taste, but I do get a little bit of chocolate and fruit flavors. Also how is this considered an American Strong Ale? Doesn’t fit the style at all, actually not really sure what stuff this should be considered. All that being said I guess it does hide the 8.0% very well. Not something I will go out of my way to try again.

Picture of the day: Now this is teamwork.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/26/beer-199365-gordash-brewing-holy-mackerel-mack-in-black/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

