Beer 195/365 – Hanssens Artisanaal Oude Gueuze

Style: Gueuze

ABV: 6.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: My first Gueuze! (pronounced Gooze). Very sour, but in a good way.

Will I be drinking this again: Maybe? Tasted good but gave me heartburn like a mofo

Grade: B+

5/22/2010: So lately the big thing in beer as of late is “Sours”… American Wilds, Gueuze etc. I have not sampled any of these styles of beer, so I figured it was about time I try. I picked this one up on a recommendation by Phill out at Vintage Estate.

This stuff smells SUPER funky. If I were a noob beer drinker, I would have never drank this beer. It smells like its spoiled lemons and baby diaper, but thankfully the taste wasn’t as harsh as the smell. The taste is very sour lemons, but the sour taste is saved by the bubbly champagne type thing going on here. Very well carbonated, but very dry. The best analogy I can draw is, picture a bottle of champagne, mixed with unsweetened lemonade, with lemon heads soaking at the bottom. With all the said, I like this a lot. Its very different. I really couldn’t drink more than a glass and a half of this, and its a good thing I didn’t because damn did I get some major Acid Reflux action going on about an hour after drinking this. Is that normal?

Picture of the day: Where is that annoying Sham-Wow Guy when you need him.

Published in: on May 22, 2010 at 11:30 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/22/beer-195365-hanssens-artisanaal-oude-gueuze/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. A nice Gueze to start with. And yes, I tend to get heartburn and funky things with digestive system with Belgian lambic/sours/gueze, etc. They have very high acidity and lots of wild yeasts etc.

    • Okay glad to hear. Thought I was in the minority with the weird burning feeling i was getting in my throat ha.


Leave a Reply

