Beer 194/365 – Stone 12th Anniversary Bitter Chocolate Oatmeal Stout

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 9.2%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: One of the harder to find beers I have yet to try, not as chocolaty as I expected.

Will I be drinking this again: I do have a couple bottles left, so unless one of you wants to trade for one then I will probably end up drinking it haha

Grade: B+

5/21/2010: I could not believe my eyes when I saw this on the shelves at Vintage Estate last week. This has only been brewed once in 2008, and there was about a dozen bottles sitting in his cooler. It was one of those moments when I literally had to shake the cob webs out to make sure I was seeing things correctly. I ended up only buying 6, and they actually sold out before I even left the store. Didn’t wanna be a bottle hog!

The bitter chocolate oatmeal stout didn’t smell very chocolaty. Well a little but not as much as I expected. The taste was more oatmeal than chocolate, but a faint cocoa powder taste was there. Anytime I see chocolate in the name of beer I expect it to blow me away with some Hershey syrup type flavor. But I am learning most “chocolate” beers do not deliver in that department, unless its Southern Tier Choklat. Anyways to me it tastes like a lighter Stone RIS, but a little “nail polish” type kick. The alcohol wasn’t hidden all that well, especially for an aged beer. It gets a B+ in my book for its similarities to the Stone RIS, just creamier with a bit more chocolate flavor (but lacks alcohol stealthiness).

Picture of the day: How lost should have ended.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/21/beer-194365-stone-12th-anniversary-bitter-chocolate-oatmeal-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, I’ve never seen that before.

    • Meaning, of course, that I’m incredibly jealous.

      Do you have any idea where your retailer got it?

      • Hi Al,

        I never realized you also did a beer a day. Very cool!

        As far as where he got it… I’m not real sure. I think it was a freak thing because I know it was a huge hit in 2008, and it sold out very quickly then. If you were interested in a bottle I would surely be willing to trade one.

        On that note I am actually am driving through your area next week to Ocean City and wanted to find a good 6 pack shop. I made a thread on Beer Advocate, and I think the consensus is Perfect Pour. Sound about right to you?


Leave a Reply

