Beer 188/365 – Lazy Magnolia Southern Pecan

Style: English Brown Ale

ABV: 4.25%

Purchased at: Total Wine – Ft Myers FL

What makes this beer different: I’ll give you one guess… and you will probably be right.

Will I be drinking this again: Would love to get my hands on some more of this stuff.

Grade: A-

5/15/2010: The fam brought me back a bunch of beer from their Florida vacation. This is my first beer from Mississippi. Anytime I type this state, I still say the old M-I-S-S-I-S-S-I-P-I limerick I learned in grade-school. I actually just recently brewed my first batch of beer. Like Souther Pecan, it is an English Brown Ale. It was a starter kit, but I just couldn’t help myself and added pistachio and some chocolate malt to the steep, and maple syrup in the fermenter. Its actually probably ready for bottling now so, maybe that will be one of my 365?

Southern Pecan without a doubt has a nutty smell, but not sure if I could pick out that it was pecans. The taste is a very sweet at first, but not as sweet as I was anticipating. You really don’t get any pecan until the beer warms up a bit. The flavors as a whole are a lot less intense than I thought, which makes this beer very drinkable. Pretty light on the mouthfeel also. I wish I had an entire 6 pack of this stuff.

Picture of the day: A little back story. Every year I grow a playoff beard for the penguins, and every year I shave something stupid into my face just because. Well this year I decided on a huge mustache (which can be seen above on the right). My sweet stache is the inspiration for todays comic.

Published in: on May 15, 2010 at 11:40 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/15/beer-188365-lazy-magnolia-southern-pecan/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Wicked Moustache, I grow mine in November for Movember, hehe.

    I also had the Mad Abbott Belgian Style, it was strong, fruity, pretty much what I was expecting.


Leave a Reply

