Beer 187/365 – Ballast Point Big Eye IPA

Style: American IPA

ABV: 7.0%

Purchased at: Sent to me in a trade

What makes this beer different: Very citrus tasting

Will I be drinking this again: mmm possibly, there are other IPAs I like better

Grade: B

5/14/2010: Okay I am starting to catch on to the fact that the brewmaster/owner of Ballast Point must really be into fish. I am too so thats cool with me. I actually own a stone-fish, which is the fish that appears on the label for Sculpin. They kind of look like Oscar the Grouch with spikes on this face. Very cuddly type of fish.

Very fresh IPA smell going on here, more citrusy hops than anything. Lots of hop flavor going on, mostly citrus, but almost as much pine sap flavor also. Again “piney” beers are not my favorite. A bit of pale malt makes an appearance, but not quite enough for my tastes. The moutfeel is a bit light, the finish is very hopey, and it sticks around for a good while. I prefer “crisp” quick hop jabs over long sappy 12 round bouts. Overall not bad, but not quite my thing.

Picture of the day: USA USA USA!

Published in: on May 14, 2010 at 11:27 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/14/beer-187365-ballast-point-big-eye-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

