Beer 182/365 – Three Floyd’s Dark Lord

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

ABV: 13.0%

Purchased at: Sent to me in a trade

What makes this beer different: One of the first “big beers” I have had that lived up to the hype

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, I stocked up on a few bottles.

Grade: A+

5/9/2010: Halfway here! When I had the light-bulb go off in my head that inspired me to start this blog I never thought it would have the impact that it has on my life. Not just beer wise, but because of the generous people I have met along the way. I have had many different random hobbies and interests in life, but none has had such a unselfish group of people associated with it as craft beer enthusiasts. Not to get all sappy but thanks again for reading. I never could have imagined reaching almost 28,000 page views for the entire 365 days, let alone hitting that halfway in.

I wanted to celebrate the halfway point with a doozy of a beer, so I figured I would go for the most hyped up beer I have ever been able to get my hands on; Three Floyd’s Dark Lord. The g/f and I planned on going to Dark Lord Day until we ended up meeting Phill at Vintage Estate, getting a deal for his two websites, then getting free VIP tickets to the event. Can pass up tickets for free beer. Okay enough BSing, time for the beer.

The smell of this was just awesome. Dark fruit is actually the first smell I am picking up, which is not what I expected. I also get some dark smoked chocolate as well. Enough smelling its time for tasting. Wow. Dark chocolate and smoked dark roast coffee hits you first, and some dark fruits finishes it off. I’ll be honest in saying I can’t pick out the exact dark fruits, probably figs? Maybe some plum/raisin? I am taking off my wanna be beer snob hat to say who cares what dark fruits are in this, it tastes awesome. If there are any hops in this mix here, I am not getting them. The mouthfeel is very creamy for the ABV, but the alcohol bites you just enough to know its there, which really helps balance out the pounds and pounds of malt used to make this. Overall this might be my new favorite Imperial Stout, but I would have to drink one side by side with a Speedway Stout to be sure. I am sure there are better out there, but to be honest this is my first of the “big stouts” I have tried.

Anyone have a stout they like better? I am trying to trade for the Kate the Great or Hunahpu, but that stuff is tough to find!

Picture of the day: I try to keep up with politics and current events as much as can, and I have to say this is very true

Published in: on May 9, 2010 at 9:22 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/09/beer-182365-three-floyds-dark-lord/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations, man. Again, thanks for writing this blog, it’s awesome and has taught me heaps.

    • Glad I could educate! You are for sure my most loyal reader so thank you haha.

      • Hehe, I’ll keep up the good work if you do.

  2. […] 8: Three Floyds’s Dark Lord […]


Leave a Reply

