Beer 181/365 – Oskar Blues Dale’s Pale Ale

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 6.5%

Purchased at: Northern Beer Traders – West View, PA

What makes this beer different: Very hoppy for a Pale Ale

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: B+

5/8/2010: I am a huge fan of canned craft beer for many reasons, but one of the biggest reasons is portability The cans are also much less intimidating for people trying to get into craft beer. Both of these reasons came in handy because I brought a bunch to a golf scramble that I golfed in this day. Two of the people in my group are Coors light drinkers, so I thought I would bring them some real beer to drink. One liked the Dale’s, the other didn’t. Oh well more beer for the rest of us hah. We ended up finishing second out of 18 teams with a 6 under par. Not bad considering I drank 5-6 of the Dale’s.

Dale’s Pale Ale smells a lot more intimidating than it tastes. Smell is VERY hoppy for a Pale Ale. The taste is also pretty hoppy, but not as much as the smell would lead you to believe. A good bit of caramel malt helps push the hops back a bit. Actually to be honest if I didn’t know any better I would have assumed this was an IPA. Probably the most hops I have ever had in an APA. Overall this probably wasn’t the best beer to try and convert my non-craft drinking buddies, but it probably was my only viable option in a can. Any other good “gateway” canned beers that you can think of that I can bring to the next golf outing?

Picture of the day: I have one million dollars waiting for you.

Published in: on May 8, 2010 at 8:59 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/08/beer-181365-oskar-blues-dales-pale-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Maybe Mama’s Little Yella Pils, also by Oskar Blues, as a gateway canned beer? I personally like 21st Amendment’s Brew Free or Die IPA in a can.

    • Good call. I remember trying it once and not being wowed by it, but I think its a lot less “in your face” than Dales for sure.

  2. Sly Fox cans most of their beers. Their Pikeland Pils could convert just about anyone to craft beer.

    • Good call. I actually haven’t tried ANY of their beers yet. I will try that one out.


Leave a Reply

