Beer 180/365 – Coastal Extreme Brewing Newport Storm Mark

Style: Milk Stout

ABV: 7.0%

Purchased at: One of the bottles from my Superbowl Block Poll winnings

What makes this beer different: The most infected beer I have ever tasted.

Will I be drinking this again: No way in hell

Grade: D-

5/7/2010: I initially had an idea to try and drink a beer from every state in the country during the 365, but I think I might save that for next year. Maybe do one new state every week, and one new country. 50 states and 50 countries in one year? The hard part of that will be finding the beer. The hardest part of this beer a day thing is not drinking the beer, but finding the time to try and update EVERY day. Which is why I am behind by quite a few days hah. The whole point of me bringing this up on this post is that this beer is brewed in Rhode Island. I figured this would have been one of the harder state to mark off the list.

It was bound to happen at some point; an extremely infected beer. The smell was sour, the taste was sour, and so was my stomach. I actually drank this beer while visiting the parents, so I couldn’t just dump it since I did not have any back up beer on hand. The parentals only have Miller Lite in the fridge, which I have already reviewed. So I was forced to drink the infect Newport Storm, and it was painful. I have had infected beer where you can still pick up some of the ingredients/malts/hops, but this was just sour sour sour. Maybe this is a decent beer fresh, but not this particular bottle.

Picture of the day: This is probably the best anti-drug piece ever.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/05/07/beer-180365-coastal-extreme-brewing-newport-storm-mark/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Just curious about this. If you find a fresh bottle will you update this review? Same goes for any other beer that you have a second time and have a different opinion of?

    • Good question. I would if I drank the beer a second time, but problem is I have so many beers in my queue for my beer a day, that I don’t think I have room in my stomach this year for too much extra beer hah.

      • Fair enough, hehe.

        Also, are you going to do a top 10 or something like that at the end of the 365?

        • I actually am going to do at top ten at my halfway point! (which I already had but didnt update on the site yet haha).

          You try any of your new beers yet?

          • Yeah, I’ve had the Holgate Temptress Choc Stout which was awesome, I had the Moo Brew Pale Ale which was nice, but I dunno if I’m a big fan of that style, not sure. I don’t know enough about the flavours to recognise what it was, it was likely different to a normal Pale Ale. I also had the Knappstein one, which was nice.

            Next one I’m having is the Alba Scots Pine Ale, probably on Saturday.

  2. I’m not a big fan of the Newport Storm beers. The only decent one they do IMO is the extreme yearly release, aka Newport Storm ’09, etc, and even those aren’t worth the price.

    • That was my first and probably my last. Unless I get one sent to me as an extra at some point.

  3. Too bad about the beer. The photo is fantastic. I love the colours you have in it.

    • Thanks Matt! I tried to make it look a bit “hectic”, with the name storm in it an all. It actually ended up raining pretty bad right after I poured it, should have waited a few minutes!

  4. Looks like you got the first batch of this beer. That WAS an batch that had issues. Once the brewery found out about it, they recalled as much of it as possible, but a lot was still out there. I know I was unfortunate enough to have one of the bad ones as well. Sorry you had the problem with this one. Newport Storm is an alright brewery, but certainly nothing special (and this from one who lives in Rhody). Some of their cyclone series are decent though, although they tend to be hit or miss for sure.

    • Yeah it happens I guess! I can’t complain since the beer was free.

      • Hell, if the beer was bad, complain away!


Leave a Reply

