Beer 170/365 – Great Divide Colette Farmhouse Ale

Style: Saison / Farmhouse Ale

ABV: 7.3%

Purchased at: Giant Ginger Kevin from Colorado brought this to me right from the brewery.

What makes this beer different: Honestly it tasted like a slightly sour franzy

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, he brought me back a couple

Grade: B+

4/27/2010: So I know that technically you aren’t supposed to drink this style of beer from this glass, but it was new and it matched the brewery so I had to. Thanks to Kevin for bringing the beer/glass back from the brewery for me, this might be my new favorite glass.

Colette is pretty funky smelling, sour and lemon also. I tried this and for some reason this instantly reminded me of a sour Franziskaner. I made my franzy loving roommate try it and without telling him what it tasted like, and he said the same exact thing “Tastes like a sour Franzy.” There is also a bit of hops going on here along with the yeasty citrus flavors. Over average carbonation but I think it works here. Also I would never peg this at a 7.3% ABV beer, hides it very well.

Picture of the day: Wow how true is this. The Evolution of Good Samaritanism .

Published in: on April 27, 2010 at 9:24 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/27/beer-170365-great-divide-colette-farmhouse-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I believe that all beers could be drank from a glass like that. I would actually think that I would want a farmhouse in a tulip

    • Yeah come to think of it there aren’t many beers I wouldn’t drink from a good tulip.

  2. I have one in my fridge at home and am looking foward to trying one when I get back from Boston. Have you had Harpoon Leviathan Imperial IPA? If you’re getting into the hoppy beers it’s definitely worth trying.

    • No, but you are the third person asking me if I have tried it yet… I will have to pick one up!

  3. You’re inching closer to your halfway point beer, are you planning something awesome for it?

    • I think I might crack open the 2010 Dark Lord that I just got in a trade.. or maybe one of the 2009 Abyss I have aging. And not sure if I should do it on day 182 or 183 haha

      • Midnight.


Leave a Reply

