Beer 165/365 – Sebago Frye’s Leap IPA

Style: American IPA

ABV: 6.2%

Purchased at: One of my winnings from the superbowl poll

What makes this beer different: Too bitter, and not in a good way

Will I be drinking this again: Negative

Grade: C+

4/22/2010: Not sure why but there are three different entries for this beer on BeerAdvocate. All have different ABV, but the same label. I have no clue how to truly tell which one this is so I just went from the one with the highest amount of reviews for all the technical info above.

I drank this the night the pens went into TRIPLE overtime. Not sure if a lot of you know but I work as an usher at the Mellon Arena to watch the Pittsburgh Penguins play, while getting paid for it. So I didn’t end up drinking this until about 1am, and I had to get up for work at 7:20. Needless to say I drank this down pretty quick, and woke about about 3 times in the middle of the night haha.

I am starting to realize that pine hops are the kind I dislike. I won’t act like I know which hops give that type of taste, but from what I read in reviews is that beer with a lot of pine flavor is not my cup ‘o tea. The smell is bitter hops, with a bit of grainyness. The taste is just too bitter on the hope end for me. Not a whole lot of malt to work with, and the hops are pretty piney. Very light mouthfeel. Maybe I am just tired and the hops are too intense but I won’t be drinking this one again. Dedication!

Picture of the day: The makers of The Simpsons apparently areSouth Park fans. If you haven’t heard Matt Stone and Trey Parker are getting death threats for animating Muhammad in a bear suit.

Published in: on April 22, 2010 at 10:17 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/22/beer-165365-sebago-fryes-leap-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

