Beer 159/365 – Dark Horse Double Crooked Tree IPA

Style: Imperial IPA

ABV: 13.6%

Purchased at: Received in a trade

What makes this beer different: Almost barleywine-ish. But hides the alcohol insanely well

Will I be drinking this again: I hope I can find more of it. If so then yes. Two of these in one night I will be down for the count.

Grade: A

4/16/2010: I think its official, if I had to pick one brewery to have the best combo of an Imperial IPA and an Imperial Stout, Dark Horse would take the title. Yes there are better Imperial IPA’s and Stouts, but for one brewery to have beers in both styles that are this good, is just awesome. I would be a happy man if I could have an entire case of Plead the 5th Stout and Double Crooked Tree sitting around to drink whenever. Then again if that were the case I would probablyyyy end up having a drinking problem because I would pop them open way too often.

Wasn’t sure what to expect from this DIPA, but I read some good things about it so I had to trade for it. If I had to guess this beers style just by the smell I would guess its a barleywine, boozy and even amounts of hop/malt. Wow the flavor is awesome, some earthy and grapefruit hops, with a ton of toasted/caramel malt to support the high ABV. Mouthfeel is a bit heavier than a normal Imperial IPA but I think it needs to be, also a bit resiny. This beer is amazingly drinkable for a beer with 13.6% ABV. So if you are looking to get a buzz but not drink a ton of liquids, pick this one up.

Picture of the day: Some amusing Unattended Children signs.

Published in: on April 16, 2010 at 10:29 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/16/beer-159365-dark-horse-double-crooked-tree-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So glad you got one of these. One of my absolute favorites. I am a hophead, but this is so different than the other double/imperials that I know and love, like Hopslam and Double Trouble. Love it.

    • Yeah I really liked this one. I wish I could get more of it in the area. Dark Horse is supposed to start dist. to PA soon


Leave a Reply

