Beer 157/365 – Southern Tier Hop Sun

Style: American Pale Wheat Ale

ABV: 4.9%

Purchased at: 3 Sons Dogs n Suds – Wexford PA

What makes this beer different: Great summer beer. Pale Wheat Ale’s might be my new go to summertime brew.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, although I am hoping Three Floyds gets their paperwork through to sell in Ohio ASAP. If that happens I will be buying gumball head by the trunk full.

Grade: B+

4/14/2010: Southern Tier is one of my favorite breweries because of the awesome imperial stouts they brew. Creme Brulee, Jahva, Mokah, Chokolat.. all great beers and all taste just as advertised. When I want a flavored stout I don’t want to have to search for the flavors, and with Southern Tier its like playing hide n seek with the neighborhood fat kid who isn’t exactly the stealthiest guy around. I haven’t had many of their non-stout beers and this one sucked me in with the shiny summertime labeling.

For as light and transparent as this beer is, is sure has a strong floral hop aroma to it. The taste is tons of floral hops, and some tangy zesty lemon action going on. Unfortunately there isn’t much wheat to malt balance in Hop Sun. There is much more sweet pale malts that wheat it seems like. Super light mouthfeel with above average carbonation makes this a great summer time beer. If only the malt/wheat had a little better balance (like gumball head), and a little bit thicker of a mouthfeel to it, this beer would have been an A-.

Picture of the day: Wow what a combination. I might have to stop by this place next time I need to stock up on beer.

Published in: on April 14, 2010 at 12:31 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/14/beer-157365-southern-tier-hop-sun/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Drew, I have wondered what Hopsun would be like. Seems like a good summer beer. I, too, am hoping 3 Floyds gets it together to be in Ohio or Michigan. How was fishing? And how was drinking a whole case of Aventinus?

    • Fishing was awesome! A little cold but good fishing weather. We didn’t quite drink a whole case. The aventinus put my two miller lite drinking buddies on their ass haha.

  2. PS: Still waaaay behind!

    • I know I am slacking. I have all the photos edited now I just gotta get to typing haha

    • Ugh I know. I have been so busy lately. I have all my photos edited now I just have to get to typing.


Leave a Reply

