Beer 155/365 – Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA

Style: Imperial IPA

ABV: 9.0%

Purchased at: Sent to me by the guys at SCAATB

What makes this beer different: Super sweet but a good dose of hops also.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, this has become my go-to affordable imperial IPA

Grade: A

4/12/2010: Believe it or not I have never had any of the (insert number here) Minute IPAs from Dogfish Head. Why? Because only recently have I been open to IPAs and DIPAs. Honestly I would have never started to drink these types of beers if some of my readers weren’t pushing for me to try them. I am glad I did because this is probably my third favorite style now (After Imperial Stouts, and Belgian Dark Ales).

Man this stuff is awesome. Strong and sweet, but not too much of either. The sweetness comes from caramel malt, citrus hops, and I get a nice dose of honey in there also. Mouthfeel is just perfect on this one, with just enough carbonation. Just like the Rust Belt Ale from Sprague, this beer could use just a tiny tiny bit more hops to be a tier higher in my grading system. Overall this is a very affordable DIPA and I wish I would have bought a case of this for fishing this weekend instead of the Aventinus. Don’t get me wrong Aventinus is an awesome beer, just not as “sessionable” as the 90 Minute.

Picture of the day: Anyone care to explain what is going on here?

Published in: on April 12, 2010 at 2:32 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/12/beer-155365-dogfish-head-90-minute-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. One of my favorite beers. One of the first beers I had by Dogfish Head. I’ve been a big fan of their beers ever since. I had the 90 Minute IPA on tap at the Dogfish Head Brewpub in Delaware, it was just AWESOME! 🙂

    • Their brewpub is sweet. Ever tried their liquors? Their honey brown rum is awesome.

      • Unfortunately, I didn’t get a chance to try it while I was there. I had way too many beers haha 🙂

  2. we can only get the 60 minute currently in Canada. But I would recommend it!

  3. 90 minute always confuses me, I never can tell if I really like it or don’t care for it. The sweetness is definitely what sets it apart from other DIPA’s and makes it more interesting than your typical boring hop-bomb.

    • I guess it hit the spot since I am more of a sweet IPA liking kind of guy haha

  4. One of the best IPAs around, glad I could introduce you to a new go to IPA.

    • Thanks again dude! You guys missed a good time at The Big Tap In. You need to come out next year.

  5. I had this one a few months ago in the Rake again. Definitely my favourite beer that isn’t Belgian ! Stunning

    • Nice! See if you can get your hands on some Bell’s Two Hearted Ale over there.. Very similar but even more tropical tasting. I am pretty sure Bell’s distributes overseas.

  6. […] the four “Minute” IPAs from Dogfish that I have yet to try. Already had the 60, 75, and 90 minutes… all of which were really good. They should try doing a 105 Minute IPA (half 90 […]

  7. […] boozy. Actually this reminds me of what a “105 minute IPA” would taste like (half 90 minute, half 120 minute). Actually after just reading some of the reviews apparently this is not due to […]


Leave a Reply

