Beer 154/365 – Sprague Farm Rust Belt Ale

Style: American Amber / Red Ale

ABV: ???

Purchased at: My roommate Dave brought it back from the brewpub

What makes this beer different: Super sweet but a good dose of hops also.

Will I be drinking this again: They don’t bottle it but if I am in the area then yes

Grade: A-

4/11/2010: My roommate texts me on Saturday asking if I wanted a growler from this place called “Sprague Farms” up near Erie, PA. I honestly never heard of it so I had to check out their beers on BeerAdvocate. Turns out this Rust Belt is an A+ on BA, and as a lot of you know that’s hard to come by on BeerAdvocate. Although there are only 3 reviews on it. At $8 for a 16oz Growler it better be some good stuff!

Rust Belt is some thick brew! One of the thickest Amber Ales I have ever had. Robust, Syrupy and almost chewy. The flavor is pretty damn good. Not a whole lot of carbonation going on which just adds to the heaviness. Notice I usually touch on the flavor/smell first, but I had to bump the gravity of this stuff up to the top because it is just so off the scale. The flavor has a ton of sweet caramel/toasted malts. A nice dose of very floral/citrusy hops take a little bit of a back seat to the malt. Never thought I would say this but, this beer could have used a bit more hops to cut through the thickness/syrupy type flavor. That or have the beer be a little lighter, with same ratio of malt/hops. Overall though I was very impressed with this beer and have a very unique feel and flavor.

Picture of the day: Homer Simpson tells gives Tiger an earful.

Published in: on April 11, 2010 at 9:32 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/11/beer-154365-sprague-farm-rust-belt-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love the Growlers they use…maybe that is factored into the cost?

    • Good question… they are pretty heavy so I’ll bet it does


Leave a Reply

