Beer 153/365 – Two Brothers Red Eye Coffee Porter

Style: American Porter

ABV: 9.2%

Purchased at: Sicliano’s Market – Grand Rapids – MI

What makes this beer different: Highest ABV porter I have ever had, but it hides is so well.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes! I need to find more of this

Grade: A

4/10/2010: Picked this one up on a whim when I took my brewery tour through Michigan with the girlfriend. I pretty much was grabbing everything and anything that I can’t get in PA… Short’s, Dark Horse, Two Brothers etc etc. Plus Any porter/stout that has coffee in it i am down to try. Usually when I buy a beer without knowing anything about it, I ended up getting a dud, but not this time.

By now this beer is a year old, and I can still smell the hops when I pour it. The smell is a perfect 50/50 blend of hops and dark coffee. The taste is a perfect combo of coffee, hop, and vanilla flavors. Chocolate makes a guest appearance towards the end of the bottle. If I had to guess the ABV of this by tasting it, i would say 5.5-6%. I like to try and guess the percentage before actually checking it out on the label or beeradvocate. Reason being is a large part of the grade I give a beer is how well it masks the alcohol content, and this beer is a freaking ninja. Amazing that a beer with a light mouthfeel like this (average as far as porters go) can hide the alcohol so so well. I need to find more of this stuff.

Picture of the day: If you haven’t read theonion.com, you need to check it out. Here is an article from it. I Won’t Have My Daughter Bringing A Black Man Into This House

Published in: on April 10, 2010 at 8:26 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/beer-153365-two-brothers-red-eye-coffee-porter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey, do you have an email or something so I don’t have to remember which beer our conversation was going on in? hehe.

    Either way, I’m thinking it’s time for me to get another little collection so I’m looking to get another list of recommendations going.

    Let me know on Tom_D_Ellis@hotmail.com or reply here, whatever.

    • Awesome.. You getting it from the same place? I will scout some more beer out for ya

      My email is noslenwerd at gmail dot com


Leave a Reply

