Beer 150/365 – Southern Tier Mokah

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 11.0%

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: This is what I thought the Southern Tier Choklat should have tasted like

Will I be drinking this again: Absolutely

Grade: A

4/7/2010: This is the last stout I have yet to try from Southern Tier’s Sweetwater series. Jahva is one of my favorite stouts for sure, but the Choklat was a bit disappointing. Well turns out Mokah is a 50/50 mix of the aforementioned beers, so this should be interesting.

This stuff pours out super thick. The smell is all about chocolate to me, I am not getting much coffee. Same for the taste, its mostly about Belgian Chocolate from the Choklat, with a bit of the Jamaican Coffee showing up from the Jahva. If I didn’t know any better I would think that this was 75% ST Choklat, and 25% Jahva. I am sure this is because the Chocolate from Choklat is VERY strong and bitter, overpowering the coffee flavors. Overall this is a very sweet and tasty beer, and what I had envisioned Choklat tasting like. The coffee curbs the chocolate just enough for it to be a very good beer. Hides the booze very well for 11% also.

Picture of the day: Shes just not that into you.

Published in: on April 7, 2010 at 9:35 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/07/beer-150365-southern-tier-mokah/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This blog is crazy shit. Cheers.

  2. I absolutely love this beer. I think the coffee cuts through the chocolate just enough.

    • Agreeed! I still like the Jahva best though from their blackwater series


Leave a Reply

