Beer 148/365 – Dark Horse Plead the 5th Imperial Stout

Style: Imperial Stout

ABV: 12.0%

Purchased at: On-tap @Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Tastes like 8% ABV, but dangerously drinkable at 12%

Will I be drinking this again: I bought a sixer to age so yes.

Grade: A+

4/5/2010: First off, I just finished redesigning Phill’s website for Vintage Estate. He has been rated the #1 beer retailer in the WORLD according to ratebeer.com. Go check out the site and let me know what you think of it. Without his store I’m not sure I could a) afford to do the 365 beers (easily half the price of PA beer), and b) get enough variety of GOOD beer from local shops to add up to 365.

Dark Horse I would have to say is my #2 favorite brewery right now (behind Three Floyds). Probably because they have more than just a few really good stouts, and the atmosphere at their brewery/bar is amazing. If you are a new reader click here to see when I visited Dark Horse.

Sorry for the crappy pictures, but my blackberry pearl is garbage. This is without a doubt my favorite Dark Horse beer to date. I ordered this before I saw what the ABV was and I assumed it was 8, maybe 9%. The alcohol is hidden insanely well, which is impressive considering it hasn’t been aged at all. The smell actually has some dark fruit in it, dark chocolate… The taste is just amazing. Bitter chocolate, some prunish flavor, and I am assuming they used some oatmeal in this. I also get some vanilla and coffee flavors towards the end. The mouthfeel is so creamy, and almost oily (in a good way). I could drink three of these and be down for the count. Do yourself a favor and if you see this around and you like stouts, buy yourself a bunch.

Picture of the day: Damn it feels good to be A Gangsta.

Published in: on April 5, 2010 at 10:29 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/04/05/beer-148365-dark-horse-plead-the-5th-imperial-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve been following this blog from close to the beginning and I knew about the web design stuff but just looked at the tap in website today and I must say the page of breweries is super cool with the caps and states. I love the blog and love the design work keep up all the great work.

    • Awesome thanks for the compliment Rob. That brewery page took a ton of work haha.

      Thanks again and keep reading!


Leave a Reply

