Beer 131/365 – Three Floyds Alpha King

Style: American Pale Ale

ABV: 6.0%

Purchased at: Received in a trade

What makes this beer different: A lot of punch for a pale ale

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: A

3/19/2010: Still haven’t had a beer from three floyds that I didn’t like. Therefore I was pretty pumped when I got this bottle in that super bowl poll that I recently won. I actually had two sent to me! Oh and don’t mind the pint glass… it had a label on the back so thats why the top looks dark.

Alpha King smells pretty hoppy, mostly citrus. The flavor is really really good, citrus hops are the dominant flavor, with some caramel malt right behind it. A good bit hoppier than your average pale ale. Orange/tangerine flavor it what to me makes Alpha King different for the style. Mouthfeel is actually a bit lighter than my brain is telling me it should be. I really need to make a trip out to this brewery ASAP. I wish I could go for Dark Lord day buttttt The Big Tap In is that day!

Picture of the day: Anyone need a ride?

Published in: on March 19, 2010 at 8:13 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/03/19/beer-131365-three-floyds-alpha-king/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Are you in the March Madness pool? What’s your BA screen name?

    • I actually am not.. I figured I was due to lose so was going to sit out participating in those type of things haha.

      my user name on BA is noslenwerd

      • Good idea. Were the hauls ever posted on BA for that Super Bowl LIF? If not, what were some of the highlights out of the stuff you received?

        • No I never got around to it.. That was my first haul, is it standard practice to post up a haul? haha

          I would say Full Sale barrel aged stout, Dogfish WWS, brooklyn cookie jar porter, saison rue, alpha king were some of the highlights


Leave a Reply

