Beer 120/365 – Founder’s Sappy Slappy Bastard

Style: Scotch Ale / Wee Heavy

Purchased at: Smokin Joe’s – Pittsburgh PA

What makes this beer different: So strong but the maple balances it out PERFECTLY

Will I be drinking this again: I hope to God they brew this again.

Grade: A+

3/8/2010: Big thanks to one of my readers Andy and his wife for buying me a couple rounds on a Monday night. They hail from Detroit and were spending a couple nights in Pittsburgh before heading out to The Barnes Foundation in Philly. They also picked me up 4 Short’s PB&J’s, 2 Short’s Mystery Stouts, and a Kentucky Breakfast Stout from 09. They wouldn’t let me pay them for any of the beer mentioned above. So again, thanks so much to Andy and his wife. You guys will be getting a nice little surprise beer in the mail when you get back home.

I honestly never even heard of this beer, but Andy went on to tell me its basically Backwoods Bastard that is aged in maple barrels (he had one also). I am always down for trying any beer that has maple in it. The smell is pretty straight forward, bourbon with maple. The taste is freaking amazing. The bourbon hits you first, and smoothly transitions into a strong maple flavor, and finishes with a touch of oak and vanilla. This is the most maple flavor I have ever tasted in a beer, but it works because there was a lot of bourbon in it to balance out. Maple is the perfect addition to the backwoods bastard, because I found the bourbon a little strong for me. Mouthfeel is syrupy but creamy in a way. Its been awhile since I had an A+ beer but this one no doubt deserves it. If you are lucky enough to see this on tap at a local bar.. GET IT!

Picture of the day: Even comcast realizes that Jay Leno’s show sucks.

Published in: on March 8, 2010 at 9:52 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/03/08/beer-120365-founders-sappy-slappy-bastard/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am totally down with you on this one. Had this at the festival at Eastern Market and along with KBS and barrel aged Red’s Rye PA, it was easily the favorite of a very good fest. Glad you liked it. And glad you got some more Shorts too. Was just thinking I should send you more. If I could find any more Liberator, Kind Ale or Uber Goober, I’d send you. One last thing- if you have the chance, try the Dark Horse Double Crooked Tree. Amazing.

    • That would be awesome if you could send me down the Short’s you had mentioned. I haven’t had a beer from them I haven’t liked. I wish they would dist. to PA. I will look out for double crooked tree.

      Not sure how close Boardman Ohio is to you but you should head down to the http://www.bigtapin.com beerfest in April!

  2. Double jealous…

  3. Agreed on the SSB. Great beer! We were at Founders a few weeks ago and had the Canadian Breakfast Stout from the same barrels – very nice!

    As for Shorts, I have seen singles of the last 8 limited releases around town, but they are getting scarce. The Uncle Steves, Uber Goober and PB and J have a really high infection rate. They are going to release about 20 new beers in bottles over the course of the next year – looking forward to it.
    http://www.mlive.com/kalamabrew/index.ssf/2010/03/shorts_brewing_company_to_rele_1.html

    • Yeah I’m pretty pissed I think the PB & J I just drank was infected… was really looking forward to this beer and it just didnt taste right.


Leave a Reply

