Beer 119/365 – Goose Island Honkers Ale

Style: English Bitter

Purchased at: Sicilianos Market – Grand Rapids MI

What makes this beer different: Not very bitter for an English Bitter

Will I be drinking this again: If I’m ever in Chicago yes.

Grade: B+

3/7/2010: I remember passing on drinking this on tap last time I was in Chicago, why? I don’t know. It seems to be very popular as it was on tap at every bar we stopped at (this was over a year ago before I rediscovered my love for craft beer).

Honkers Ale is my first “English Bitter.” With a style named English bitter you would expect a lot of bitter hops right? Well I didn’t really get that from this beer. Which is weird because a lot of the reviews on this beer say its perfectly balanced… Maybe I got a goofy batch? Anyways the smell is very hoppy, but the taste is not. The taste is almost like a sugar candy, very malty, with some hops in the background. I would say the mix was 75% malty flavor, and 25% hops. A lot heavier than I thought it would be for a beer with 4.2% alcohol content. Overall a pretty decent beer, a bit too sweet and not really what I was expecting.

Picture of the day: Kanye West hates hugs.

Published in: on March 7, 2010 at 10:09 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/03/07/beer-119365-goose-island-honkers-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. From what I’ve read and tasted of English Bitter, the style isn’t meant to be super hoppy as the name would imply. I think this style was more bitter in comparision to other beers 200 years ago. These days, if a beer isn’t coating your teeth with resin it’s not hoppy enough. The last time I drank Honker’s Ale, I do remember it being more “hopped” than the other beers I had that night.

    • I wasn’t so much expecting a ton of hops, but they were almost none existent in this beer. Maybe I am getting used to imperial ipas and have lost a knack for detecting hops haha.

  2. I didn’t get much for hops either from what I remember of my review. A good beer though.

    http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/1146/1157/?ba=jlindros


Leave a Reply

