Beer 114/365 – New Glarus Black Wheat

Style: Dunkelweizen

Purchased at: Stillcrazyafterallthesebeers.com

What makes this beer different: Smoke/chocolate flavor in a wheat beer

Will I be drinking this again: Its not brewed any more but I would yes.

Grade: A-

3/2/2010: This beer is one of many sent to me on the house by Guy and Gary Montessero over at Still Crazy After All These Beers. I have been dying to drink some of the beers they sent me but wanted to finish off redesigning their site first. The make a kick-ass weekly show on.. you guessed it; beer. They cover beer shows, interview brewmasters, and give their thoughts on beer in general. Go check their show out, it will be worth your time.

So about the New Glarus Black Wheat. Has the typical wheat beer smell, with a bit of a sour note similar to a wild ale smell. Taste is crazy complex. First thing I get is smoke flavor, some sour (from the yeast), and a tiny hit of cherry and chocolate at the end. Crazy combination of flavors but it works. Its almost like a wheat beer and a porter had a love child. Very very original flavor. Mouthfeel is a bit heavy for a dunkelweizen, but its really good. This one was a borderline A. If you can get your hands one it, give it a try.

Picture of the day: Is the rest of the universe even trying anymore?

Published in: on March 2, 2010 at 11:40 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/beer-114365-new-glarus-black-wheat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hey, this is the most recent so I’m commenting this one:

    I had the Sierra Nevada Pale Ale tonight, enjoyed it.

    I can’t really remember anything particular about it, maybe since I had many other drinks after it, so I might give a better description tomorrow, hehe.

    • Awesome glad you liked it. Its probably one of the best selling craft beers here in the states. Should be pretty inexpensive down there too I would assume?

  2. Umm, I think it was $6. I don’t know how much that is in American dollars

  3. glad you liked it, definitely was one of my favorites from New Glarus. Thanks again for all your work on the site.

  4. Oh man, New Glarus is good…

  5. Hello folks1

    I invented a BOTTLE CAP DISPLAY last year and formed GRAY WORLD INDUSTRIES, LLC. I have discovered your site as well as STILL CRAZY AFTER ALL THESE BEERS and love the enthusiasm of the market right now!!
    I began to collect the caps from the many brews i’ve tried…starting my obsession and the idea of my product!! i would appreciate it if you check out my website and product and let me know what you think!!


Leave a Reply

