Beer 112/365 – Great Lakes Blackout Stout

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: Oakey hops

Will I be drinking this again: Yup, bought a few to age.

Grade: A-

2/28/2010: I can’t believe its been a couple months since I have had a Russian Imperial Stout for my beer a day. I also can’t believe this is my first Great Lakes beer for this site. Probably because I have had pretty much every readily available beer they make. Although this is my first time trying blackout stout.

Blackout stout smells like coffee, black malt, and a bit of hops. The taste is mostly a roasted coffee, a bit of chocolate, a little tiny bit of hop flavor, and a hint of smoke. Very nice combination. The smoke adds a nice touch to the aftertaste. Thick but silky mouthfeel, and hides the 9% alcohol very very well. Great lakes doesn’t really make a beer that I don’t like, and this one falls right in line with the rest.

Picture of the day: Son, this is what a woman should look like when you are through with her.

Published in: on February 28, 2010 at 6:26 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/beer-112365-great-lakes-blackout-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just had a Great Lakes as well….Funny thing is the Great Lakes I had was Canadian. Apparently they share names…..

    • Weird I never knew there was another by the same name haha


Leave a Reply

