Beer 109/365 – Bell’s Hopslam

Style: Imperial IPA

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: Super hoppy but dangerously drinkable

Will I be drinking this again: Go a 6 pack, so yes.

Grade: A

2/25/2010: So I have never gotten around to trying Hopslam until recently, mostly because I have never been open to trying IPA’s again until I started this website up. All kinds of buzz about this beer so I figured it was a must try. I confess I actually had this on tap as a second beer a few weeks back when I went to Vintage Estate to stock up.

Bell’s Hopslam is probably the hoppiest smelling beer ever. The taste is a complete enigma to me. Even though there is a ton of hop flavor, it is amazingly easy to drink. A decent bit of malt backbone for all the hops to lean on, and I am getting some honey also. If I had to guess the ABV I would guess 7%, but its actually 10%. Alcohol is hidden very well. If this beer wasn’t so pricey I could easily drink a few in a row without blinking.

Picture of the day: So this is how pacman was born.

Published in: on February 25, 2010 at 3:24 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/25/beer-109365-bells-hopslam/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds good, I’ll have to pick some up next time if I see it.

  2. Sounds like my kind of beer. Will have to make a trip south of the border to find some though!

    • It will be worth the trip for sure!


Leave a Reply

