Beer 108/365 – Avery Maharaja IPA

Style: Imperial IPA

Purchased at: My Buddy Kevin bought it straight from Colorado for me.

What makes this beer different: Light mouthfeel, but huge flavor

Will I be drinking this again: For sure

Grade: A-

2/24/2010: Quick history lesson… Did you know IPA’s have been around since the 17th century? Only recently have Double IPA’s/Imperial IPA’s sprung up. It was believed to be created by Vinnie Cilurzo of Russian River brewing out of California (was with Bling Pig brewing at the time). Supposedly this style happened on accident when he added too much malt to his mash, and made up for it by adding a ton of hops. Crazy.

Is there a bad beer brewed in Colorado? Other than anything Coors that is. I really need to get out there to do a brewery tour. Maharaja smells very hoppy, piney. Taste actually is a lot more malty that I expected, almost too malty for the style (gasp) in my opinion. A lot of sweet malt, and some pine sappy hop flavor. A bit of citrus there also. Also it hides the 10% alcohol content extremely well, especially considering the fact that the mouthfeel is actually kind of light to me. Usually you need a pretty heavy beer to mask an ABV like that.

Picture of the day: Okay so this is actually a video, but it features two of my favorite people Jon Stewart and Tracy Morgan.

Published in: on February 24, 2010 at 11:07 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/24/beer-108365-avery-maharaja-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. hey, just commenting this one since it’s most recent, but:

    I had the Bee Sting, which was the Australian Honey Wheat Beer. I really liked it, interesting taste. It was probably more sour than I expected, but I liked it a lot.

    Also, that Tracy Morgan video is hilarious, that guy is brilliant.


Leave a Reply

