Beer 107/365 – Abita Purple Haze

Style: Fruit/Vegetable beer

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: A touch of raspberry.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: B

2/23/2010: Purple Haze is brewed in the home state of this years Superbowl champions, Louisiana. Of course the name of this beer is a tribute to the best guitar player EVER.. Jimi Hendrix. I actually work as an usher at the Mellon Arena where the Pittsburgh Penguins play, and last night Eric Clapton was in town. He is no slouch on the geeetar either. Although his set was very short, probably because he was actualy sober.

Well Abita got it about half right, this beer is hazy but not very purple. Damn you Abita. But seriously this was one of the first craft beers I have ever tried. The smell is a typical wheat beer smell, with almost a berry jelly type smell. The taste is a lot of wheat, a little bit of raspberry, and not quite enough malt. The ingredients are right, just not quite balanced. If it had a touch more raspberry and malt, this beer would be an A. I remember when I first tried this beer I LOVED it, but I guess my palette is getting a bit more “refined.” I will still drink it again as it is a sessionable beer, but I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as I used to.

Picture of the day: This pretty much sums up some of the problems in the US.

Published in: on February 23, 2010 at 10:50 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/23/beer-107365-abita-purple-haze/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Abita is a great brewery with a great backstory. They brewed a special beer after Hurricane Katrina to help with the rebuilding process. This is my wife’s favorite beer, there’s a place in AC that has it on tap.


Leave a Reply

