Beer 103/365 – Dark Horse Fore Smoked Stout

Style: American Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: Not as smokey as I thought it would be

Will I be drinking this again: Mmmm depends what else I have available that day

Grade: B+

2/19/2010: Wonder why there isn’t a “smoked stout” category on Beeradvocate? I guess its because Smoked Porter is a bit more common than Smoked Stouts. Anywho picked this one up a few days ago at Vintage Estate. Actually didn’t see this one in Michigan when we took our trip up there. Had to pick this up because so far Dark Horse might be my favorite brewery I have personally visited. Again how can you hate a place with beers called “Richard in mouth w/cumquat”, and “Smells like weed.”

It seems to me like Dark Horse uses the same stout base for all the beers in this series. The prior ones were One/Oatmeal, Too/Cream, and Tres/Blueberry. The smell is a decent bit of smoke, and a bit of coffee. The smoke taste in this beer comes through as more of a charred type of flavor, and is actually a bit subdued oveall. I am assuming this is because I am used to smoke porters which usually aren’t nearly as bombarded with as much malt as stouts. The other flavors are heavy espresso, and molasses. I wish I knew what the ABV is on this beer because it peeks out just a little bit. I base a lot of my grading of a beer on whether or not the alcohol is hidden well, so its hard for me to give an accurate grade. If its a 6% beer they did a bad job, if its a 9%-10% beer they did an awesome job. Overall very solid, just wish the alcohol was hidden better.

Picture of the day: Mother Nature has a sense of humor..

Published in: on February 19, 2010 at 5:48 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/19/beer-103365-dark-horse-fore-smoked-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

