Beer 102/365 – Weyerbacher Heresy

Style: Russian Imperial Stout

Purchased at: On Tap at Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: Mmmm perfect amount of oak.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes for sure

Grade: A-

2/18/2010: I think when I die I want my to end up in Vintage Estate’s tasting lounge. They always have a lot of original/one of a kind beers on tap there. Cara and I ordered a Weyerbacher Heresy, and a Dogfish Palo Santo. I told her whichever she liked better she could have so I ended up with the Weyerbacher Heresy. Both are damn good but wow is Palo Santo amazing on tap.

I was so so close to giving this an A, but just couldn’t quite push myself to do it. Maybe its because I drank it next to the Palo Santo which is one of my favorites. Smells very malty with a bit of bourbon. The taste is caramel malt, oak, and bourbon. Very very nice balance between the three. A lot of oak aged beer sometimes ends up being to heavy or light on the oak flavor, but this one is just right. A bit heavier than the average mouthfeel for a RIS. Very solid beer.

Funny Picture of the day: Some people take their religion a bit too seriously.

Published in: on February 18, 2010 at 5:25 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/18/beer-102365-weyerbacher-heresy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

