Beer 100/365 – Trappist Westvleteren 12

Style: Quadruple

Purchased at: Sent to me by Mike/Ruth @ Bon Beer Voyage

What makes this beer different: Its the only beer ranked #1 in the world according to beeradvocate.com

Will I be drinking this again: I wish, but its damn hard to find.

Grade: A

2/16/2010: First off, huge huge thanks to Mike and Ruth over at Bon Beer Voyage for sending me this… for free. The only terms were that I drink it for my 100th beer. They run a very cool little operation out of Florida. Basically if you are looking to head overseas to sample some amazing beer, then you want to get in touch with Mike and Ruth. They take all the hassle out of finding the right places to go and places to stay. They make all the travel/housing/brewery arrangements for you, all you need to do is back your bags. If you are interested head on over to their site and let them know Drew sent ya.

Not only is it a Westy 12, but it was purchased right from Belgium and has already been aged for over two years. The drink-by date on the cap is 7/11/12. I’m not sure how many of you have had an aged Belgian beer, but they all have a similar smell to them once you open it. Not really sure how to explain the smell other than saying its a musty and “refined” smell. Not as much head on the pour as I anticipated, but I am sure that is due to the age of the beer. The smell literally filled the room, my roommate sitting 8 feet across from me could smell it, he described it as boozy. I would say it smelled sweet, honey, and weirdly enough a soy sauce scent. The taste is super cmoplex, and very sweet with dark fruit flavors. Molasses, prunes/raisins, and some apple kick. To be honest I’m not quite sure how some people on Beer Advocate literally describe 13 different flavors they are pulling from one liquid, come on you guys are just making stuff up now right? I am by no means a super taster but I highly doubt you can legitimately pick out more than 6-7 unique flavors in one beer, or is my palette just not refined enough? Anyways back on track, the mouthfeel is very very nice, almost like a nice red wine. Overall this is an awesome awesome beer, but didn’t quite wow me enough to be an A+. I think that is because of all the hype behind it being the #1 rated beer in the world. Again thanks to Mike and Ruth for this.

Funny Picture of the day: If this doesn’t sum up the world we live in today, I don’t know what does.

Published in: on February 16, 2010 at 12:42 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/16/beer-100365-trappist-westvleteren-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey Drew – I find it hilarious that you gave both Hop Stoopid and Westy 12 the same grade. Let’s be clear, this isn’t a knock on you at all. I pictured all of the outrage it would have generated if this were a forum on BA and I couldn’t help but laugh. You’d no doubt be peppered with all kinds of insults from people who take themselves waaaay too seriously. I’m a hop head and am right there with you on Hop Stoopid, but I’ve yet to try Dreadnaught or Westy 12 (although both are on my wish list!). I’m working my way through a case of Nugget Nectar and loving every bit of it. Great site you’ve got here, keep it coming. Now I’m off to find that section of BA you mentioned…

    • Haha thanks Ben. Yeah thats partially why I wanted to start my own site, to have an outlet where the reviews are a bit less “serious and snobby”… I love BA but thats one of the things that does piss me off like you said, if you dont rate a top 100 beer an A+ or better, people get all pissy. Some BA’ers do have a holier than thou attitude about their opinions. I could guarantee that you could line up 10 “amateur” belgian drinkers, and let them sample a westy 12, rochefort 10, and a bernardus 12, the opinions would be split on which one is best. And thats one of my favorite parts about reviewing beers, its all subjective and everyone has different tastes.

      Thanks for reading and here is a link to that section of BA http://beeradvocate.com/forum/list/51

  2. I’m with you on Westy 12 also. I got a six pack last January, tried one then and one at xmas, very good but… I am going to try one every six months to see how/if they improve.

    • Cool let me know what the age does to it, I have never had a fresh one though…

      Its like we expect to be drinking liquid gold since its so highly regarded. For my money I will drink a Rochefort 8/10 before I shell out $ for a westy (still a super good beer though)

  3. I have had Westy 12 a few times and I always taste concord grapes. Not sure if you or anybody picks up this flavor in this beer? It kind of freaks me out a little, but I like it.

    • hmm can’t say I noticed grapes. There were a lot of different flavors going on that I could not detect.


Leave a Reply

