Beer 99/365 – Lagunitas Hop Stoopid

Style: Imperial IPA

Purchased at: I won a superbowl block poll that involved beer. Pretty sweet right?

What makes this beer different: Its like a baby Dreadnaught

Will I be drinking this again: Yes, I have a new-found love affair with Imperial IPA’s

Grade: A

2/15/2010: One day I stumbled into a section of BA that I have never been before, and it basically involved gambling with beer. I ended up putting my name in a block poll of 10 people, and the losers had to send the winner 48oz of beer. I won and so far I got 4/9 packages, and already got a couple big bottles of Bruery, World Wide Stout, Short’s Cup of Joe etc. Putting my name in that poll might be one of the best choices I have made in my beer drinking life.

So heard a good bit about Hop Stoopid but have never seen it in PA, so I was pretty pumped when I got this one sent to me. I am really starting to crave IPA’s, especially when they have enough malt backbone to rest on. The smell is caramal and hops. Again I am not the most technical when it comes to evaluating hops but I can tell you the balance between hops/malt in this beer was almost perfect. If anything for once I can say it might have been a little tiny bit too sweet, and not enough hops. I can tell you the sweet flavor was a mild citrus, and some sweet caramel. Overall this reminded me a lot of a weaker version of Three Floyds Dreadnaught. Very solid beer.

Funny Picture of the day: This might be the coolest dog ever.

Published in: on February 15, 2010 at 9:02 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/15/beer-99365-lagunitas-hop-stoopid/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. At $4 for a 22 ounce bottle here in MI, I think it is one of the best deals out there. Incredible beer for the price!

    • Chuck random side note, are you able to get your hands on shorts PB&J? If so would you be interested in a trade?


Leave a Reply

