Beer 94/365 – Avery Out of Bounds Stout

Style: Irish Dry Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman Ohio

What makes this beer different: Doesn’t seem very Irish Dry Stout to me, but very good.

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not

Grade: B-

2/10/2010: I’m always up for trying almost any beer that is brewed in Colorado. I have actually been thinking about taking a Friday off and flying out to try and do a balls out brewery tour like I did in Michigan. This nice thing is most of the breweries there are within a couple hours of each other, so I think I could hit up a good bit of them in three days for sure. Attn: My giant ginger friend Kevin from Denver, we need to coordinate this ASAP.

So maybe I am an amateur when it comes to classifying beers, but I wouldn’t consider Out of Bounds an Irish Dry Stout. When I think Irish Dry I think Guinness or Young’s. Even though this has some dry qualities, this still hits me more as an American Stout. The smell is mostly roasted malt, with a tiny bit of chocolate. There are a few distinct tastes to this one, mostly a roasted flavor, with some coffee and a touch of dry smoke. The problem is they just don’t transition very well into each other. Its kind of like hearing a song with a loud guitar riff, then a huge crashing symbol, followed by a loud trumpet. No fading in and out of each other. Also for a 5.1% the alcohol is not hidden very well. Mouthfeel isn’t as creamy as a typical Irish Dry. Overall was kind of let down by the Out of Bounds. Anyone else had this and agree with me on this?

Funny Picture of the day: A little breakdown of how single people might be spending their Valentine’s Day.

Published in: on February 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/10/beer-94365-avery-out-of-bounds-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

