Beer 91/365 – Founder’s Double Trouble

Style: Imperial IPA

Purchased at: Regional Food and Drink – Washington DC

What makes this beer different: One of the hoppiest beers I have had yet.

Will I be drinking this again: Probably not

Grade: B

2/07/2010: We went to Regional Food and Beverage before the Pens/Caps game Sunday, and we literally saw people with cross country skis on hoofing around the city. First time I have ever witnessed skiing inside a city in my life. Anyways back to the bar. Very cool place with a ton of beer on tap. They had Brooklyn Cookie Jar Porter listed as one of their beers on tap so I was pretty pumped to try that, but of course we order it and she comes back telling us they just ran out earlier that morning. Argh.

So lately I have actually been enjoying imperial IPA’s, but Double Trouble was a little too intense for me at 86IBU. The smell was flowery, and some tropical fruit. The taste was all hops, and not a lot of malt to balance it out. I can take a ton of hops but for me it needs a malt backbone to stand on. Moutheel was thick and sappy, and almost had a weird resin ganja like feel to it (odd I know but thats the only way I can describe it). Props for hiding the 9.4% ABV, but overall just too much hop smacking you in the mouth for my tastes.

Funny Picture of the day: Those vegans take the fun out of everything.

Published in: on February 7, 2010 at 11:00 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/07/beer-91365-founders-double-trouble/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Shadyside was very ski-able on Saturday. I skied a few miles around the city and even skied to Harris Grill for a beer. Not sure how many times in my life I’ll be able to do that…

    • haha thats awesome. I am assuming you found me through iheartpgh.com?


Leave a Reply

