Beer 89/365 – Short’s Cup a Joe

Style: Imperial Stout

Purchased at: Sicliano’s Market _ Grand Rapids MI

What makes this beer different: Actually tastes like a coffee with creme

Will I be drinking this again: Hopefully yes, they don’t distribute far outside of MI

Grade: A

2/05/2010: Picked up a mixed 6 pack of all Short’s stuff back in early January on my brewery tour. Honestly never really heard of much of them other than the PB&J beer they make, which they had JUST ran out two days beforehand. Bastards.

Cup a Joe really is the closest thing to a coffee w/creme in beer form. Check out the head on this thing, foamy as hell. Smell is straight coffee with some lactose smell. The taste is AMAZING. Lots of smooth roasted coffee, with some lactose in the mix to give it the creme flavor. Super well balanced between the two, and I like how the coffee taste was strong but not bitter like some other coffee stouts. Mouthfeel a bit heavier than an average stout, but not too thick. I really wish I would have picked up a few more of these. It might almost be worth the 4 hour drive to go back up and pick up some more.

Funny Picture of the day: Bastard must have broke into my house and stole my clothes. I was wondering where that thing went.

Published in: on February 5, 2010 at 10:54 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/05/beer-89365-shorts-cup-a-joe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment