Beer 87/365 – Bell’s Kalamazoo Stout

Style: American Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Roasty, sweet, and smooth

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: B+

2/03/2010: Going back to my comfort zone.. Stouts. I spent the last month on a mission trying to be open to more styles of beer, and it has been successful, but time to return to my stronghold. I also notice my grading is becoming a bit more strict as a result.

Kalamazoo stout smells mostly like chocolate to me, which is odd because I don’t get a lot of chocolate in the taste. The taste is mostly roasted malts, then some nice bitter coffee flavor, and a bit of chocolate at the end. It all transitions very smoothly. Pretty creamy for a medium mouthfeel. Overall very solid for a regular old American Stout.

Funny Picture of the day: I know a couple Skier’s/Snowboarders like this.

Published in: on February 3, 2010 at 8:39 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/02/03/beer-87365-bells-kalamazoo-stout/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

