Beer 80/365 – Lagunitas Imperial Red Ale

Style: American Strong Ale

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Intense hops/alcohol

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: B+

1/27/2010: Lagunitas is slowly creeping up pretty close to my top 5 favorite breweries. They have a lot of solid beers. I am also starting to realize I like any kind of beer that has the name “Imperial” in it. Imperial on the label = Drew will drink you.

Imperial Red smells VERY Floral. The taste is about 60/40 hops to malt. The hops are are orangey tasting, and a little too intense for me. The malt has a nice bready taste to it. This tastes like its stronger than 7.5% ABV but it isnt. In an odd way I kind like the alcohol bite. This actually reminds me a lot of their Brown Shugga beer, but without the brown sugar. Very solid but I wish the hops were toned down a tiny tiny bit.

Funny Picture of the day: Check out Mel Blanc’s tombstone.

Published in: on January 27, 2010 at 10:24 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/27/beer-80365-lagunitas-imperial-red-ale/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I think that’s because Imperial usually means “strong and flavorful”. I tend to like the “Imperials” as well.


Leave a Reply

