Beer 78/365 – Founder’s Porter

Style: American Porter

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Lots of flavor for a light porter

Will I be drinking this again: Yes for sure

Grade: A-

1/25/2010: Dark. Rich. Sexy. That’s what the label reads and pretty much sums the beer up better than anything I can type. Although the lady on the picture by today’s standards wouldn’t be considered very sexy. Maybe 100 years ago that type of chick would be my cup ‘o tea.

Have yet to try a beer from Founder’s that I don’t like. This beer is dangerously drinkable. The smell is straight chocolate, and the taste is pretty similar. A nice amount of chocolate with a bit of coffee taste. Very creamy for a Porter. Mouthfeel is a little heavier than a typical porter, but still on par. It also hides the alcohol well for it being 6.5%. Overall its a solid beer and very drinkable.

Funny Picture of the day: Damn engineers are pretty slick. Check out how this guy is drinking his beer.

Published in: on January 25, 2010 at 5:42 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/25/beer-78365-founders-porter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Not sure if this has been asked yet, but what type of camera are using to take these pics. They all turn out great!

    • Thanks Keith. I use a Nikon d90 with an 18-200mm lens, usually on a tripod (manfrotto).

      Not only am I drinking a lot of good new beer, but this project has really helped me improve my photography as well.

      • Thats awesome. I’m a huge beer nerd as well and I have been following your posts since I found out about it. I recently moved to Pittsburgh for law school and have been amazed at the “beer haven” it has been. I would have never known. I’m also big into photography so I love seeing these bottles and the brews in all their glory. Keep it up man.

    • Oh nice I am assuming you go to Duquesne? I have a couple friends who go to law school there. Where did you move here from? And where have you beer to so far as far as good beer goes? If you have not made the trek out to Vintage Estate in Boardman, you need to because its amazing.

  2. Founders is the greatest. Going there tomorrow!

    • so jealous… it was packed when we stopped there so we didnt get to try that much beer. But I had their honey wheat and it was awesome. If they still have it on tap give it a try.


Leave a Reply

