Beer 77/365 – Southern Tier Choklat

Style: Imperial Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman OH

What makes this beer different: Tons and tons of bittersweet chocolate

Will I be drinking this again: Yes I bought a few to age

Grade: B+

1/24/2010: I was probably more excited to try this beer than any of the prior 76 beers on my list. From what I have been reading people say its the most chocolatey beer out there. I love chocolate and big heavy imperial stouts, so I was ready to have my mind blown.

The smell is like a melted tootsie roll all the way. Okay about to take my first sip and ready to be “wowed”… but no… Maybe I am guilty of comparing certain beers to each other but i was expecting the same “wow” I got when I drank the Southern Tier Jahva. Don’t get me wrong this beer is damn good, but again my anticipation for this one might have been too high. The taste is without a doubt chocolate, but VERY bitter chocolate and lots of it. This is not a Hersheys milk chocolate flavor, this is more like dark chocolate bakers discs. Southern Tier is always true to their labeling, pumpking, creme brulee, jahva… all have an in your face taste of the name on the bottle. The mouthfeel was also a bit lighter than what I expected. The alcohol peeked out a little bit too much towards the end of the beer, where the jahva had similar alcohol content but not a sign of alcohol. I am hoping if I age a couple of these it will mellow out the bitterness and mask the alcohol a bit.

Funny Picture of the day: I’ve gotta find me one of these air fresheners.

Published in: on January 24, 2010 at 9:42 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/24/beer-77365-southern-tier-choklat/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Dang, sorry to see your expectations beat out this beer. It’s one of my favorites.

    Keep up the good work, someone has to do it!

    • I still really liked it, just not as much as I thought I would.

      Thanks for reading!

  2. I found this beer to be at its best when pared with food. Last time I had it was with a huckleberry and lemon curd trifle… the two together yielded the “wow” factor for sure. The right paring takes this beer up several notches. But you are right, on its own it lacks compared to others.

    • Thats one are of beerdom I have not jumped into yet, food pairing. I usually won’t even touch beer while eating a meal. I would love to read up on good food/beer pairings, because I am a bit of a foodie as well.

      • Pick up a copy of The Brewmaster’s Table. Garrett Oliver does a good job explaining food and beer to people who don’t normally consider it.


Leave a Reply

