Beer 69/365 – Three Floyds Dreadnaught IPA

Style: Imperial IPA

Purchased at: Armanetti’s Wine and Beer – Chicago IL

What makes this beer different: It’s the first time I drank a beer that caused clouds to part and sunshine to glow right into my glass.

Will I be drinking this again: Yes. Damnit I wish they would distribute Three Floyds to PA

Grade: A+

1/16/2010: Two A+ in a row… what is this world coming to. It takes a lot for me to say “wow” when I drink a beer, but this made me do it. The colors in the room seemed more vibrant after I took my first sip of this beer. I feel like the Lion King scene where Simba was on the rock and “Circle of Life” started playing in my head, except Dreadnaught was sitting where Simba was. Now I see why so many people on my blog have been telling me I need to be open to IPA’s. This beer blew my mind.

The smell reminds me of something fruity/peachy, and you can smell the hops for sure. I’m not going to act like I know everything I am tasting here since I am pretty new to IPA’s, but all I know is this beer is amazing. My misconception was that all IPA’s were just straight hop to the mouth, but dreadnaught has a lot of caramel malt flavor to balance the hops. Again I’ll be honest in saying I am not sure what all I am tasting, but I get some fruit, maybe grapefruit, and just enough malt to balance. This beer is without a doubt like nothing I have ever tasted before, and now I am pissed I didn’t buy more.

 

Published in: on January 16, 2010 at 9:55 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/16/beer-69365-three-floyds-dreadnaught-ipa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] 7: Three Floyd’s Dreadnaught […]


Leave a Reply

