Beer 68/365 – Southern Tier Jahva

Style: Imperial Stout

Purchased at: Vintage Estate – Boardman, OH

What makes this beer different: I’ll let you know once I stop drooling

Will I be drinking this again:Undoubtedly YES

Grade: A+

1/15/2010: Anyone catching onto the fact that heavy coffee stouts are my beer of choice? God this stuff is good. I might have to try this side by side with Speedway Stout (my current favorite stout) to see which one I truly like more.

Jahva is made with Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee, which is said to be among the best coffee beans in the world. As soon as you open this stuff it smells like a fresh brew cup of dark coffee. You don’t have to go hunting for a “hint” of coffee smell with this stuff. The taste can only be described as “wow.” So heavy, but so smooth and delicious. Coffee is about 75% of the taste, with about 25% bakers chocolate to compliment it. This beer is very sugary, but not to where you can’t stand it. I didn’t realize until after I was done drinking this that is was 10.4% ABV, but I was shocked when I found this out because there is not a trace of alcohol burn while drinking it. If you are a stout lover and a coffee lover, this beer is a must get. Southern Tier is quickly shooting up my list of favorite breweries.

Funny Picture of the day: Faster than a speeding… owl?

Published in: on January 15, 2010 at 6:15 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/15/beer-68365-southern-tier-jahva/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve been saving my bottle for a rainy day. After reading your review I can’t wait for it to start raining here in S. Florida. Hope I didn’t miss my opportunity this weekend, as sadly it is our dry season.

  2. Drew heard about your blog from BA. Have been reading for a cpl wks now. If your down for a bit of a road trip, or by chance r a skier, Just returned from a trip to Cannan Valley. Its just outside of Thomas WV, and home of the Mountain State Brewing Co. Picked up their Hypno Stout, there is a Hypno Coffee joint down the road from the brewery, so obviously it is a Coffee Stout. Very tasty, not nearly as good a ST Jahva but pretty close IMO. I to enjoy most stouts and tend to be a bit more fond of the coffee ones. What other coffee stouts have you tried?

    • Nice thanks for the suggestion. I am actually going to DC first weekend of Feb, maybe I will take the long way and hit up Mountain State for lunch on Saturday. I have had a good bit of coffee stouts but this one is tied for the best (Alesmith Speedway). I have also had Hitachino Espresso Stout, Coffe/Macadamia/Coconut Porter (the maui/stone collab), Rogue Mocha Porter, Bells Java Stout, and a few others I’m sure I am forgetting haha.

    • Random question but you aren’t related to a certain Gaudio from Pittsburgh are you? I went to high school/college with a Gaudio

      • I guess its possible i do have some relatives living in the pittsburgh area.

  3. ST Jahva is good, but wait till you try the Mohka. It was hard to let go! Hope you enjoy it


Leave a Reply

