Beer 63/365 – Southern Tier Pumking

Style: Pumpkin Ale

Purchased at: Bocktown Beer and Food

What makes this beer different: Tastes like liquid pumpkin pie

Will I be drinking this again: Yes for sure

Grade: B+

1/10/2010: I wish I would have spoken up when I got this on tap, because it had a faint smell of cleaning products. Unfortunately as usual I was in a big rush, and the bar tender was busy as hell so I just drank it. I am pretty sure this skewed my opinion of this beer, so I will be sure to try it out of the bottle next time I see it.

The beer had a slight nutmeg/cinnamon smell to it, and the taste was just like pumpkin pie. Cinnamon and Pumpkin were at the front, with a little bit of nutmeg and alcohol bite at the end. The mouthfeel on this one was a bit light, and I was surprised it wasn’t a bit more malty. If they would have added a bit more malt to this, and cranked up the flavor just a little bit, it would have bumped this beer up to an A for me. The flavor was there I just needed a bit more to balance out the high ABV.

Published in: on January 10, 2010 at 10:08 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/10/beer-63-southern-tier-pumking/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Maybe this one fades over time. I haven’t had it since last October and at the time it tasted really fresh and like you said- a lot like pumpkin pie. I loved it, and its one of my gf’s favorite beers. I don’t think its for everyone though, but I am surprised to hear it didn’t tast very thick or flavorful enough to balance out the alcohol…Could be the age I suppose.

    • Yeah it almost tasted stale and under carbonated to a point. You can tell the flavor was there, it just seemed muted. I wish I could find a bottle of it around here but chances are I won’t be able to.

  2. I’m glad you found this, it’s far better fresh. This is my favorite fall beer by far


Leave a Reply

