Beer 57/365 – Shorts Brew The Soft Parade

Style: Fruit / Vegatable beer

Purchased at: Siciliano’s Market – Grand Rapids MI

What makes this beer different: Like a Red Fruit Salad

Will I be drinking this again: Possibly

Grade: B+

1/04/2010: Not sure the label of this beer is a reflection of the brewmasters desire to be somewhere more sunny, but I am going to assume so because Michigan is cold and snowy as hell. Okay its not like that all the time but damn it was bitter cold when I was there, and laying on a beach in chair in the sun sounded like a good idea at the time.

So I really had no idea what style of beer this was before I bought it. I made it a mission to buy every shorts beer I could get a hold of when I was in MI. Not that I am against fruit beers, but I don’t go out of my way to drink them. Overall I was pleasantly surprised with this one being that fruit beer isn’t my favorite. Clean fresh cut berry smell, and the taste was similar; strong strawberry taste with a raspberry/blackberry tinge (I think that might be the first time in my life I typed Raz-Berry, who knew it had a silent P in the middle). The berries were not overpowering but you without a doubt know they are there. The mouthfeel was medium and almost felt like a sparkling wine cooler when I wasn’t paying attention. The over carbonation is what knocked this one down a few pegs for me. Not bad for my first sample of Short’s!

Published in: on January 4, 2010 at 10:44 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/04/beer-57365-shorts-brew-the-soft-parade/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] blogger reviewed a flavor of Short’s back in January as part his “365 beers in 365 days” blog.  While not quite as gushing as the July blog post, this review put a positive spin on the […]


Leave a Reply

