Beer 55 – Dark Horse Perkulator Coffee Dopplebock

Style: Dopplebock

Purchased at: Dark Horse Brewery/Bar

What makes this beer different: Most clean tasting coffee beer I have ever tasted.

Will I be drinking this again: Bought a 4 pack to go

Grade: A

1/02/2010: If you haven’t read my Michigan Brewery Road Trip yet, check it out here. But bottom line is this place had the coolest atmosphere ever. The bar is off the beaten path, and I mean that literally and figuratively (but that’s a good thing).

I know I have said this once in the past, but this is my new favorite coffee beer hands down. This stuff has such a clean coffee taste. The smell is coffee, the taste is coffee, hell it even looks like a light roast coffee. The beer has a medium to light mouthfeel with some nice carbonation. I think I enjoyed this beer so much because the coffee taste isn’t mixed in with other flavors like most “coffee beers.” You don’t have to search through all the malt and sweetness to find the coffee as it is all over the place. If you are a coffee lover like I am this is a MUST try.

Published in: on January 2, 2010 at 10:42 pm  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/02/beer-55-dark-horse-perkulator-coffee-dopplebock/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Eager to read about the trip but am not finding it (or beer #54). Am I looking in the wrong place? Glad to see you made it back. Seems like you covered some good ground. Look forward to details.

    • Just uploaded beer 54… had to wait on the girlfriend to send me pictures from her camera haha.. I didnt have mine in Jolly Pumpkin. Just finishing up the main brewery tour post now

  2. Enjoying your blog very much. I agree with you on DH–very cool place! PS: saw “the girlfriend”s pic—score!

    • Haha thanks Andy!

      I just posted up a full review on Dark Horse, check the last post.

      Thanks for reading!

  3. […] am a big fan off coffee so I opted for a Perkulator Coffee Dopplebock (review here), and Cara ordered the Reserve Special Black Bier Ale. The Dopplebock has so much clean coffee […]

  4. […] the first brown ale I have had with such flavoring. My favorite coffee beer thus far hands down is Perkulator by Dark Horse. Coffee Bender might have jumped into the #2 spot. The smell is french roaste coffee […]


Leave a Reply

