Random Post – Happy New Year and Who Are You?!

So overall I am very surprised to the response I have been getting to this blog. At first I was apprehensive about doing this but am glad I did. I am averaging over 100 views a day, but the question is… Who are you? where are you from, how did you find my blog, and what would you like to see me do differently in 2010 with my site? I want to hear your feedback. Don’t be bashful to post your thoughts in the comments section as I read and reply to every single one. And if you haven’t yet, click the subscription button on the right column of the page to get daily updated sent to your email.

Personally I am starting off 2010 by doing a little brewery tour with the girlfriend. I know most of the breweries might be closed today, but I am getting a little bit of cabin fever. Going to start off by heading to NW PA towards Erie, then through northern Ohio, and into southern Michigan. If we have time we might try to end the trip in Chicago at Goose Island. Below is a list in order of what we will be passing, I know we wont be able to get them all but I’m going to try!

Erie
Southern Tier
Thirsty Dog
Hoppin Frog
Great Lakes
Maumee Bay Brewing
Fort Street Brewery
Atwater
Jolly Pumpkin
Dark Horse
Arcadia
Bells
Founders
New Holland
Saugatuck Brewing
The Livery
Three Floyds
Goose Island
Two Brothers

Published in: on January 1, 2010 at 1:35 pm  Comments (27)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2010/01/01/random-post-happy-new-year-and-who-are-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

27 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My name’s Mike, 30 from West Des Moines, Iowa. I read you post on beeradvocate.com. Your review are enjoyable and, being a photographer, I really enjoy the beer shots.

    If you can find a reason to pony up the kizash without the gf strangling you, go for a Sam Adams Utopias.

    • Haha its ok we don’t have joint bank accounts so I might just be able to sneak it… she won’t care as long as I share with her haha.

      Thanks for reading!

  2. My name is Charlie, found out about the site in a post on BeerAdvocate. I really like the photography and the idea of reviewing a different beer every day. I’ve been doing more or less the same thing myself for a few months now but I don’t have a blog (just a spreadsheet with notes and rankings).

    Everything I’ve tried from Founder’s is awesome, so I’d recommend picking up whatever you can by them. Unibroue makes some great stuff as well.

    A quick top ten list of mine. I’d recommend trying anything on this list if you haven’t had it yet (note this doesn’t include a number of new things I have tried and is in no particular order):

    Chimay Blue
    Dogfish Head 90 Minute IPA
    Dogfish Head Palo Santo Marron
    Founder’s Breakfast Stout
    Innis & Gunn Oak Aged Beer
    La Chouffe Golden Ale
    Stone Brewery Arrogant Bastard Ale
    Trappistes Rochefort 10
    Unibroue Trois Pistoles
    Victory Brewing Storm King Stout

    • Awesome thanks for the list… I like your style. I have had about half and agree they are top tier beers.

      Only had a chance to grab one beer from Founders and it was a Honey Wheat Ale. Damn that stuff was good. At that point I was so full off beer and food from earlier in the day that a sweet easy drinking beer hit the spot.

      Thanks for reading!

      • I’ve had all of the following by Founder’s and thought all of them were excellent:

        Founder’s Breakfast Stout
        Founder’s Centennial IPA
        Founder’s Imperial Stout
        Founder’s Red’s Rye PA
        Founders Dirty Bastard Scotch Ale

        I recommend all of them.

  3. I heard about you through Lew Bryson just as you were starting the brewery trek. Fantastic stuff. Like you Im a Pittsburgher (currently livin’ in Philly) with an abnormal love of beer who has taken on the task of blogging about it. If you make it out to this end of the state let me know. I’m happy to point out some great places and a beer for the day is on me.

    • Good stuff thanks for reading Brian. I can’t believe Lew gave me a mention on his blog, not sure how he even found it. Where in the burgh are you from? I currently live in the north hills, but grew up in Banksville.

      Will you be at the beer fest in AC on March 20th?

      • I grew up in Sewickley and since my parents and some good friends are still there I get back as often as possible. It’s great to see the area’s beer scene growing.

        I’m not sure if I’ll make the AC Fest. You should try to make it this way in June for Philly Beer Week 2010. It’s 10 days of amazing beer events in and around the city. No beer fanatic should miss it.

        • I heard good things about Philly beer days. I might try to make it out there for a weekend. Let me know if you end up going to AC!


Leave a Reply

