Beer 39 – Founder’s Backwoods Bastard

Style: Scotch Ale / Wee Heavy

Purchased at: Vintage Estate

What makes this beer different: Whiskey Whiskey Whiskey

Will I be drinking this again: Yes

Grade: B+

12/17/2009: This is the first time I have ever tried a Scotch Ale. According to Beer Advocate Scotch Ales are strong ales, also known as “Wee Heavy.” In the 19th century Scotland, they’d also be known as 160/-, a nomenclature based on the now obsolete shilling currency.

First thing that hits you without a doubt is the bourbon, followed by oak chips and vanilla. Might sound weird but it is a really good blend. As the beer warms up it REALLY becomes a sipping beer (as if it wasn’t before that). Lots of whiskey flavor as it warms. If you are a whiskey/bourbon lover give this one a try, otherwise steer clear.

Published in: on December 17, 2009 at 9:24 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://365beers.wordpress.com/2009/12/17/beer-39-founders-backwoods-bastard/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. keep it going boss. Nicely done. Drink all the Founders you can. If you need any Michigan beer suggestions, hit me up. I’m jealous of your quest.

    • Thanks for reading, how did you find my blog if you don’t mind me asking?

      Yeah I am starting to realize there are a ton of good beers out of Michigan. Trying to get my hands on some Founders Kentucky breakfast stout

  2. Sorry. Was out of town for the last two weeks.

    A friend who is constantly searching the web for beer related info found your site. I’m digging it. The KBS is probably my current favorite beer ever. None available now (i’ve only ever had on tap at Founders). Looks like it launches in March. I put the link in the website field above.

    Just went to a great beer store in VA (where I’m from) and picked up some stuff I haven’t tried before. Duck Rabbit Milk Stout, a couple from Smuttynose and Bear Republic. Also a couple of regional beers we can’t get here from Shooting Creek and Highland Brewing.

    • Awesome man thanks for the link. I might actually be heading up to Michigan this weekend just to do a little bit of a brewery crawl, so if i do I will have to hit up Founders and try the KBS.

      Duck Rabbit Milk Stout might be my favorite Milk Stout, you should like that one.

  3. Ok. Not sure where that website link shows up. Here it is.

    http://www.foundersbrewing.com/founders/beer/brand-calendar

  4. No problem. I can’t guarantee they will have the KBS, that was last June. Don’t want you to get your hopes up and be dashed. If you do hit Michigan, you should shoot me an email and let me know where you are so I can recommend some places. If you’re in Grand Rapids, where Founders is, you should definitely hit Hop Cat, downtown. They have a ton of craft beers on tap, lots of MI brews. New Holland is also not far, about 45 minutes or so. And if you go anywhere else in the state let me know. Great places to try. Make sure to try some Shorts beer (Hopcat is a great source for that, I think). They have some new limited stuff that’s really good. Lots of stouts. Including a PB&J. Let me know if you want more info. Have fun.


Leave a Reply

